Zelda: Breath of the Wild Review

Warning: The review contains spoilers for Zelda: Breath of the Wild. If that bothers you, play the game first then read my review of the game.

BOTW-Share_icon

I usually don’t play a lot of video games for several reasons. 1) Major game titles cost $65 or more, 2) Most games play across all consoles, but there are some that are console specific like Call of Duty, Resident Evil, Super Mario. If you want to play all these games, you have to spend $250+ on each console. 3) You’re spending 12 hours on one game just to finish the main quest. There are people who have made a career on playing games like DarkSydePhil, PewDiePie, Markiplier, etc. Personally, without these people a person would waste money before seeing if the game is any good, which is why I watch them to get a taste of it before spending $65 on a game.

Growing up with the NES and N64, I never played any of the Zelda games. I have seen Ocarina of Time and Majora’s Mask but was never interested in the games. However, I watched DSP playthrough of BOTW and was fascinated with the game. It reminded me of Skyrim with the open-world gameplay, hunting, crafting, and fighting mechanics. I know the game was meant for the Nintendo Switch, but I’m not spending money on a new system when it’s offered on the Wii U, which I have.

I loved the puzzles, the over-all story, and exploring the land of Hyrule. After one hundred years, Link wakes up without his memory. He discovers ruins of what it used to be. Link must travel to fifteen different locations unlocking towers, solving puzzle shrines, and defeating Ganon to rescue Princess Zelda.

Even though this game was really great, there were some things I found annoying.  First, if you don’t want to walk everywhere, you have to sneak up to a horse, mount it, and take it with you to so it will obey your commands. The problem is that at first your new horse will resist you for a long time. I ended up just ditching him in a stable and used fast traveled once I conquered enough shrines.

Another thing I found frustrating was the Guardians (not the Beasts but the ones that target you with one eye). They target you with a laser beam, depleting your health if you are not careful. I managed to figure out you could ran from them just before they shoot. But in one mission when you are trying to recover Link’s memories, the spot is guarded by many Guardians and have to hide from their sight.

A third problem I had was with finding shrines. There is an indicator when you are approaching a shrine. The issue is the indicator doesn’t indicate accurately how close you are to the shrine. For example, when a child says that you are close to something, he/she will say “You’re getting warmer.” The closer you get to what you’re looking for the higher the temperature is. “Warmer. Warmer. Hot. Boiling Hot. You’re on fire.” If you’re going farther away, you become “colder.” At random times, the indicator will be going nuts but then quiet down. When you head back to where you were, your indicator will still stay silent.

My last major issue with the game is that for the first time ever, from what I have heard, main characters actually talk in the game. However, it’s only during major plot cut scenes. No one else talks and you are forced to read their dialogue. Now, I’m not opposed to reading, but when some of a game’s scenes have people speaking they should speak the entire game not just the cut scenes. Skyrim had repeating dialogue at some points that got tiring (“I took an arrow to the knee”). But there was enough quests to that was unique that drowned out the repeating dialogue. I would have liked to see more characters speaking within the game.

Overall, Zelda: Breath of the Wild is a great game despite the flaws I’ve mention. I had a great experience playing the game and was not disappointed in the final battle with Ganon. The music was calming at some points and suspenseful at other points, which is a plus as well. My score is 7.5/10 for great action, great story, and a variety of ways to defeat enemies.

Leave a Reply

